UN Human Rights Committee

ICLA Director Christof Heyns is a member of the UN Human Rights Committee since January 2017. The Commttee is an 18-member expert body charged with monitoring observance with the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. All States parties to the ICCPR are obliged to submit regular reports to the Committee on how the rights are being implemented. States must report initially one year after acceding to the Covenant and then whenever the Committee requests (usually every four years). The Committee examines each report and addresses its concerns and recommendations to the State party in the form of “concluding observations”.

Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties in accordance with articles 28-39 of the Covenant. Members serve in their personal capacity and may be re-elected if nominated.

Full details of the Committee’s work and working methods can be found here